Yankee Doodle Doggie

When I was getting ready to be discharged after my deployment to Afghanistan, we were given some form and asked to list a family member who deserved some recognition. We had already been asked on a number of occasions for similar information in order to get certificates, medals, etc. to give to people ‘on the home front’. I just wanted to get out of there so I put Shiloh’s name on the form. Then one day, I come home and there’s a letter in my mailbox addressed to Shiloh from the Department of the Army. I opened it (I know, it’s a federal offense to open someone else’s mail but how’s he going to open it? He doesn’t have opposable thumbs.) and inside was a letter signed by some general. I won’t quote the whole thing but in part it said: “I want to personally thank you for the sacrifices you have endured while your citizen-soldier has been deployed…You and your soldier’s contributions are greatly appreciated and have been a crucial part of the Army’s successful fight in the Global War on Terrorism.” That’s right…..Shiloh (all 19 pounds of him) was a crucial part of the War on Terror. I haven’t let him see the letter yet because he’ll be impossible to live with. I’d have to arrange his own little ticker tape parade. He’d probably try to use it to impress that little poodle that lives down the road.

One response to “Yankee Doodle Doggie

  1. Pingback: After all, dog spelled backwards is… | Travels with Shiloh

Leave a Reply

