Daily Archives: January 6, 2006

What to do this weekend..

I’ve got National Guard duty this weekend so I might actually be blogging (so stay tuned) but I’ve been thinking about it and I feel bad leaving you, my loyal readers, with entire weekends without your Travels with Shiloh fix (hey, it’s my delusion, just play along) so I figured I’d share some more cool things to waste your time with until my next post. I just sarted doing yoga again. I did it for a couple years regularly but it was kind of difficult to keep up with in Afghanistan and I didn’t get back into the habit when I got home. I like it becuase it doesn’t require any equipment (so, you should be able to do it anywhere for virtually no cost) and you can see progress quickly (encouraging you to keep at it). One other plus is that you can be of any level of fitness and do yoga. It’s great to do either by yourself or with a partner. Two books that I find really helpful are The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Power Yoga and Yoga for Regular Guys: The Best Damn Workout on the Planet!. The Idiot’s Guide gives a lot of detailed instructions to make sure you do each position properly as well as some good insight into the physiological aspects of yoga. The Regular Guy book emphasizes workout routines which is great but it does skimp in other areas. The two together will give you the total package. Once you’re done with that work out…treat youself to some popcorn at the movie theater. I’ve seen King Kong and The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Both are pretty good flicks and worth a look on the big screen. If you might go with kids, I’d recommend Narnia. King Kong might be a bit creepy for the wee ones.