Daily Archives: March 20, 2012

Kvick Tänkare

The Horror Etc. podcast has not one but TWO (!) episodes centered around Nordic horror.  Horror Etc. is fast becoming one of my favorite podcasts as it brings the right level of quality, likability of the hosts, geeky levels of enthusiasm about their subject and horror.

Matter is a kickstarter project looking for donations to provide weekly, in-depth reporting on science and technology.  If you’re interested in that sort of thing (as I am) and you’ve got a few bucks to spend, please consider supporting them.  They’ve got some nice rewards for modest donations ($25 gets you a 3 month subscription and $10 will get you their first 5 stories free).

Even if you aren’t interested in that particular project, think about browsing the kickstarter site (or RocketHub) and funding some other project.

I can’t remember if I posted this or not but even if I did, it’s worth a second look.  amazing dogfight animation that makes me want to watch more.  Check out Paths of Hate.

God may have 1,000 names but hobos had 23 in the 16th century.  I wonder if the need to name so many particular varieties of vagabond was like the Inuits having 18 different words for snow?

Finally, I just finished reading ‘Tooth and Nail” by Craig Dilouie.  There’s not much character development here and a bit too much military jargon but this guy can write some great action.  Think Black Hawk Down in New York City during the zombie apocalypse.  Very quick and very fun read.