My acting debut

My reenacting group got (what seemed to me ) an unusual request.  An aspiring film student is hoping to make a fan film surrounding the upcoming Assassin’s Creed video game.  The game centers on revolutionary America and he needed some grenadiers.  Here’s the official game trailer so you’ll see why he needs some redcoats.

This sounded totally cool to me so I quickly threw my hat into the ring.  Somehow I was selected to play a rebel who gets killed .  So, here I am in my uniform…hopefully the Crown will forgive me for dressing as a traitor.

I’d like to draw your attention to the canteen on my left hip.  That’ll be important later on.

So…the scene I had to do was run with the redcoats behind me. Once given the signal I was supposed to collapse to my knees (spoiler alert:  I die) and then, allowing the Brits to shoot me again I fall on my face.

Now, I’ve never acted before but I decided to throw myself into my role full force.  So, with some helpful tips on how to collapse to your knees from a fast jog and then fall on my face, we were off to the races.

I believe it was on the fourth take (yes, each time crashing to my knees and then my face) that it happened.  Remember that blue canteen?  Here’s what it looks like, before being blue.  Well, everything was going fine.  I was running down the trail…got the signal and dropped…waited a second and got the second signal indicated that I should fall.  It was sometime around there that the canteen shifted from my hip to right in front of my sternum.  I then fell down with my full body-weight.  Right. On. That. Fucking. Canteen.

It was very painful.  But, never let it be said that I’m not willing to suffer for my art.  I did another take or two and then a few more hours of other scenes.  The pain grew most exquisite and I was convinced that I had cracked a rib.  Fortunately, after a trip to the ER I was diagnosed with just a really bad bruise or hairline fracture.  Still, it hurt like hell.

Once the trailer is completed (looks like we’ve got at least one more day of shooting that needs to be done) I’ll put it up here.  But, here’s a still from my death scene:

Feel free to compare/contrast with the death scene from Platoon and tell me I don’t deserve an Academy Award.

Or maybe I need to do a film about the Holocaust?

Leave a Reply

