In which I channel my inner Themistocles

Though all else shall be taken, Zeus, the all seeing, grants that the wooden wall only shall not fail.

I just listened to a series of lectures about the Persian and Peloponnese wars while I was sawing, splitting and stacking my winter stores of firewood for my Fortress of Solitude.  Coincidentally, as my wall was taking shape, good old Themistocles was trying to convince his Athenian citizens to build a fleet with the city’s new found wealth.

I still haven’t found rich silver mines on my property so this wall will have to do for me what the oracle said the Athenian wall would do for them:

…a wall of wood alone shall be uncaptured, a boon to you and your children.

Leave a Reply

