Even Brit Hume could read it!

I just finished “Who Ordered This Truckload of Dung?” by Ajahn Brahm, a Buddhist monk living in Australia.  It’s a collection of 108 short (1-3 page) stories designed to subtly expose the reader to some of the principles of Buddhism but it doesn’t require the reader to be a Buddhist since most of the tales talk about how to deal with things like guild, love, grief, fear, and happiness.  In almost all cases, the lessons are just good common sense and don’t push a particular belief system.

I found the book absolutely charming* and despite the apparently simple messages found myself spending more time than I would have otherwise thought turning them over in my mind.  It’ll definitely stand up to additional readings and attempts to view the stories on different levels.
I particularly enjoyed the last story but it really only has an impact if you’ve read the rest of the book so no spoilers here…

*This  is the first time, to my memory, that I’ve ever used the word ‘charming’ to describe something.  I promise you, dear reader, I will do my best to make sure it is also the last.

2 responses to “Even Brit Hume could read it!

  1. Unfortunately, I have not had the chance to read this book but I really want to and will be ordering it this evening after I am done with work. Thank you for this review! I am pleased to hear that someone liked it that well!

  2. “In almost all cases, the lessons are just good common sense and don’t push a particular belief system.”

    That’s great chum. I don’t feel it’s a great idea for us to start proselytin’ others just ‘coz we have strong beliefs in the philosophies expounded. Unlike certain beings of lower life levels.

Leave a Reply

