The Man who Hates Women

This weekend I finished the book and watched the movie ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ by Stieg Larsson (the title of the post is the name of the book/movie in the Swedish original).  I have to admit I’m not a usual fan of mystery novels but I did enjoy this quite a bit.  I found that as a bit of a surprise since none of the characters are really sympathetic.  Rather, they just sort of grow on you over time.  It takes place in Sweden and immerses  the reader in some uniquely Swedish characteristics:  it’s ambiguous relationship with Nazism, class conflict and distrust of unbridled capitalism, fuzzy gender roles within relationships and the Swedish love for good murder mysteries.

The book has a couple of robust storylines occurring simultaneously, which I enjoy as well.

I would recommend reading the book before watching the movie.  Both are quite good but the book, which clocks in at over 550 pages couldn’t fully fit in a movie (even a 2 1/2 hour one), and you’ll be able to fit what was cut from the film without feeling cheated.  Also, there are some derivations from the book plot that were made in the film in order to simplify the storyline.

The movie has a strong cast (the movie is subtitled, I know that’s a deal breaker for some) and I now have a new crush on the actress Noomi Rapace who as Lisbeth Salander was able to rekindle my inexplicable weakness for goth chicks.

Leave a Reply

