I’m not a bigot, but…

Whenever you hear something like that, buckle up because you can be sure you’re about to hear some crazy shit.  Juan Williams said words to that effect and followed by knocking it out of the park:

“I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country,” he said. “But when I get on a plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they’re identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

What?  He couldn’t even insert the obligatory ‘Hey, I even have Muslim friends!’

What a douche.  If the guy can’t even see the hypocrisy of his position he truly deserves his job at Fox.  How in the world can he reconcile his position and not give every bigoted white person over the past 150 years a pass for ‘getting worried’ or ‘nervous’ around black people?

Now, I think it would have been refreshing and a worthwhile conversation if Juan said something like:  ‘I mean, look Bill, you know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country.  I’ve opposed bigotry my whole career.  Yet, I’ll admit, if I see people who are in Muslim garb prejudice gets the better of me sometimes and I get worried and nervous.’

That would create a really good opportunity to discuss prejudice and bigotry and how it’s not a simple on/off switch with people.  It’d be nice to hear a discussion about the mechanisms of bigotry and how someone like Williams could be a bigot and anti-bigot at the same time.

But, no.  Let’s just feed prejudice and allow people to rationalize their irrational beliefs.

Good job, Juan.  Your parents must be so proud.

One response to “I’m not a bigot, but…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I’m not a bigot, but… | Travels with Shiloh -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

