Kvick Tänkare

I’m not sure if this is incredibly cool or sad.  Mammoths apparently roamed the earth (well, at least a little part of it) up until 1650BCE.

It’s truly remarkable just how recent 1650 BCE really is. By then, the Egyptian pharaohs were about halfway through their 3000-year reign, and the Great Pyramids of Giza were already 1000 years old. Sumer, the first great civilization of Mesopotamia, had been conquered some 500 years before. The Indus Valley Civilization was similarly five centuries past its peak, and Stonehenge was anywhere from 400 to 1500 years old.

Want a reason to be mad at Norwegians?  How about this…looks like when they were roaming around Western Europe burning and pillaging they didn’t just keep Europe firmly ensconced in the Dark Ages…they also brought us mice.

There is no credible evidence that learning styles exist.”  Whoa…I’ve had all sorts of preconceived notions blown to smithereens lately.

I like to think I’m fairly savvy with new technology.  For some reason, however, I’ve resisted all attempts to get me to buy a smartphone.  No amount of mocking from friends and co-workers has gotten me to budge.  I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one.

Check out this very cool (and a bit trippy) wind map of the US.  They update the data hourly so it’s pretty close to real time.  (h/t phronesisaical)

The NYTimes has a great view of the Lower Ninth Ward in New Orleans, seven years after Katrina.  It’s a battle of mankind versus nature as flora and fauna attempt (pretty successfully) to take over properties that were abandoned.  There’s also a nice overview about the (lack of) discussion about what a post-Katrina New Orleans should look like.  It was a decision based on politics and emotions rather than any sort of rational process.

Ok…this is the coolest idea.  A two day cruise between Sweden and Finland with a half dozen heavy metal bands.  Ladies and gentlemen, the Sweden Rock Cruise!  I’d really like to mash this up with a training or conference on intelligence analysis.  I guess I can wait until I get into heaven for that…

Leave a Reply

